Our Board


Remberto Rivera

Remberto has more than 25 years’ experience working in the banking and not-for-profit sectors including The Salvation Army, Connections UnitingCare and Bairnsdale Regional Health Service. Remberto has a Bachelor in Economics (Honours), Graduate Diploma in Business (Accounting), Graduate Diploma in Aged Care Management and a Master of Business Administration from Deakin University. He is also a Certified Public Accountant. Remberto has a special interest in not-for-profit governance and previously served on the Boards of Neami National and the Children’s Protection Society. Remberto arrived in Australia in 1988 as a refugee, fleeing civil war in El Salvador.

Deputy Chair

Kirsten Pilatti

Kirsten is CEO of Breast Cancer Network Australia, she has expertise in management, marketing and communications having also held senior roles at Cancer Council Victoria and working with some of Australia’s leading organisations and companies. Kirsten is passionate about delivering quality services and has made a significant contribution to the not-for-profit sectors through paid and voluntary work.


Shane Lucas

Over a diverse career, Shane has held executive positions in the non-government, government and private sectors focussed on the provision affordable housing, transport and metropolitan planning, and the prevention of gambling-related harm in the Victorian community.
Shane was Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation [2019-24] and was previously CEO of Early Learning Association Australia [2013-2017] and a Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Migration Division) [2017-2019].
Shane joined the Board of Foundation House in 2020 and presently serves as Treasurer and Chair of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee.
He has a BA (Hons) from Monash University, a Migration Law (Dip) from Victoria University, and is a graduate of the Victorian Leadership Academy and a Williamson Fellow of Leadership Victoria.


James Flintoft

James has wide ranging board and executive background. He brings regional community development; social employment; government policy and service delivery (State and Federal); strategy; and finance experience.

His current and former roles include Board Member Social Traders; Board Member Foundation for Regional and Rural Renewal; former CEO Regional Development Victoria; former First Assistant Secretary Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet; ANZ Bank; and McKinsey & Company.

Board Directors

Travers McLeod

Travers is Executive Director of the Brotherhood of St. Laurence (BSL), a social justice organisation that works to prevent and alleviate poverty across Australia. Prior to this role, he was CEO of the Centre for Policy Development, an independent Australian policy institute, for eight years. Travers began his career in public law, working for the State Solicitor’s Office in Western Australia and for Justice Michael Kirby in the High Court of Australia. He holds a DPhil and MPhil (Dist) in International Relations from Oxford, where he studied as a Rhodes scholar and was a Lecturer in Politics and International Relations. He worked as a Policy Adviser for the Oxford Martin School at the University of Oxford, playing a lead role in the 2013 report Now for the Long Term. Travers’ first book, Rule of Law in War, was published by Oxford University Press in 2015. He remains an Associate of the Oxford Martin School and holds adjunct positions at the University of Melbourne and the University of Western Australia.

Travers is married to a Kiwi, and they have two young daughters. He grew up in Exmouth and Perth and remains devoted to the West Coast Eagles.

Dr Gillian Singleton

Gill is a GP who has been providing care to refugees and people seeking asylum for over 15 years. She holds a Masters of Public Health, is the former medical director of the Cabrini Asylum Seeker and Refugee Health Hub and the CEO of In2health, a purpose-led digital health company that strives to save lives through prevention.

Gill is passionate about prevention, social justice, trauma-informed and culturally safe care and has been involved in medical education, guideline and standards development and provision of advice to the Federal Government on immigration detention and migration health for many years. Gill was an active member of the Victorian Refugee Health Network executive until August 2022.

Muhammad Akram

Muhammad Akram is a senior tax analyst working in Global Employer Services at Deloitte Australia. He is a Chartered Accountant and a full member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ). He holds a Graduate Diploma in Chartered Accounting from CA ANZ and a Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting & Corporate Finance from the University of Adelaide. He is currently studying the Master of Tax program at the University of Melbourne. He previously worked at PwC Australia between 2017 to 2022 and at Multicultural Australia between 2013 to 2017.

Roberto Garcia

Roberto is a psychologist, with extensive experience in advancing health and safety performance through organisational development, executive leadership and culture transformation. His consultation experience spans Asia, North America, South America and the Middle East. Roberto is experienced in the development of Environment, Health and Safety (EHS) strategies, transformations, culture change and integration of the EHS initiatives to overall organisational objectives. This includes leadership development and psychosocial risk management. He has a Bachelor of Science in Applied Psychology and Human Bioscience, as well as a masters in Organisational Psychology.

Leisa Bayston

Leisa Bayston brings extensive experience in commercial law and legal risk management. She began her career in corporate tax with major consulting firms, moved into funds management, and held senior legal roles at a national mid-tier law firm and Macquarie Bank. Leisa co-founded a boutique commercial legal practice in Melbourne servicing a large range of business clients of all sizes and in diverse industries. This practice merged in 2022 with FCW Lawyers, a national law firm. Leisa particularly enjoys advising technology start-ups and guiding them through growth to scaling to exit, she is passionate about supporting female founders and founders from diverse backgrounds. She holds a Masters of Law (Corporate and Taxation) from the University of Sydney and Bachelor’s degrees in Economics and in Law from the University of Tasmania.

Foundation House
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Subscribe to Foundation House News and Events